Main Menu

Explore More

Athletic Hall of Fame

Established in 1999, the Athletic Hall of Fame honors those who have made lasting contributions by their outstanding achievement in athletics or service to the athletics program. The Hall of Fame inducts not only former athletes, but also coaches, administrators, and others who have contributed to our rich athletic history. In addition, “Special Citations” are awarded to recognize individuals making similar contributions in supportive roles.

To be eligible for selection, the candidate's most recent contribution in high school athletics must have occurred five or more years prior to his/her induction. Consideration is given to All-State, All-Conference, MVP, and other similar awards, as well as team captaincy, how the individual compared to other athletes during their time, and leadership.  

If you would like to nominate someone for our Athletic Hall of Fame, please return this Hall of Fame Nomination Form to Tammy Frank, Director of Alumni Affairs. 



For over 45 years, Mrs. Fore was a beloved school teacher, softball

and basketball coach at Prince Edward Academy/Fuqua School.  During her coaching career, she saw softball on the Al Smith field transition from the slow-pitch sport she loved to fast-pitch softball. As with anything Mrs. Fore touched, she sought perfection.  While she did not bring home a state title her first year of fast pitch, she did win the conference championship.  The following year she brought home the state title.  In total Mrs. Fore led her softball teams to 16 conference championships and 6 state titles with an overall record of 535-114, to include four undefeated seasons with the back to back undefeated years of 1994 (25-0) and 1995 (26-0).  In 2014 Coach Fore stepped down as the longtime chairperson of the Virginia Independent Schools Athletic Association softball committee at this time the award honoring the Division III softball player of the year was named The Beth Fore Softball Player of the Year Award.

Inside of Gilmer gym Mrs. Fore continued to coach with grace and determination.  She led the girls’ basketball teams to 5 conference championships with an overall record of 335-241.

Mrs. Fore coached numerous athletes who then went on to play at the collegiate level in both softball and basketball.

Mrs. Fore was known for her generous spirit, enduring relationships, amazing accomplishments, positive influence, and the life lessons she taught both on and off the field and court.  Her players stated “Coach Fore taught us hard work, discipline, accountability, sportsmanship, respect and humility.  She required us to be good students first, good athletes second and to fear the wind sprint.”

Hall of Fame Inductees


Robert E. Farmer III, ’66                   

Christie Gates Bondurant, ’67

Thomas O. Bondurant, Jr., ’67

David Harper, ’69

S. Donald Sequin, ’71

Merle Lou Evan Stables, ’74

Mariana A. Johnson, ’81

Al Smith, Special Citation

Coach Robert C. Gilmer, Special Citation


U. Carter Carson, ’67

A. Jackson Chandler, ’68

Jessica A. Pleasants Fraser, ’95

Dixie Watts Reaves, ’82

Robert A. Smith, Jr., ’76

Kirk A. Word, ’83


Sharon M. Arrington, ’78

William Louis Bridgforth, Jr., ’66

Hugh Carlton (Ted) Cunningham III, ’77

Charlotte Davis Cyrus, ’80

J. Stokeley Fulton, Jr., ’80

Robert T. Stanley, ’78

Brett Von Cannon Watson, ’86

Coach Billy A. Franklin, Special Citation

Coach Robert M. Hazelwood, Special Citation


Glenn W. Card, ’72

Mark Cave, ’74

Richard P. Epperson II, ’75

Bruce W. Morgan, ’77

Clark M. Robinson, ’71

Carolyn “Tip” Tipton, ’89

Coach Jacqueline Fore Southall, Special Citation


Amber E. Barton Schwalm, ’98

Sheldon “Shelly” Paul Butler, ’84

George Randolph “Randy” Noblin, ’72

Mark Fore Puckett, ’78

Gregory Alan Watson, ’81

Coach Stokeley Fulton, Special Citation


Alex Holmes, ’60

Jeffrey L. Irving, ’92

Peggy Jenkins, ’87

Donnie Kayton, ’71

Dana Hill Osborn, ’84

J. William Watson, Jr., ’73

Richard Wallace, Special Citation


Cynthia Denise Emert, ’82

James Marvin Helms, ’70

Jeffrey Scott Henshaw, ’92

Craig Wayne Howard, ’98

William Henderson Johnson, ’68

Norman Hubert “Trey” Taylor III, ’97

Jim McGall, Special Citation


Otey Burhman “Charlie” Blair, Jr., ’68

William Henry Carwile, Jr., ’68

Alton Bruce Fowlkes, ’91

Jonathan Shawn LeSueur, ’96

Natalie Arlene Layden, ’01

Harry Frank Davis ’66, Special Citation

Athletic Service Award: Walter “Bozo” Addleman

Frances Cartwright Moore


Hassan Brahim Bradford Campbell, ’97

David Aaron Dudley, ’77

James Ronald “Jim” Ennis, ’68

Robert Lee Hines, ’81

Cynthia Jo “C.J.” McQueen, ’02

Marlo Magdalene Powell, ’02


William Fuqua “Willie” Elam, ‘88

Kyle Evans Murphy, ‘96

Robert Baltzer “Bobby” Schmidt, Jr., ‘61

Tara Blakeley Wooding Senger, ‘01

Preston Grant Williams, ‘00


Michael Howard “Mike” Clabo, ’68

Angela Love “Angie” Watts Hall, ’91

James Richard LeSueur, ’88

Dane Christian Williams, ’03

Raymond “D.” Ranson, Special Citation


Raymond Overton Anderson, ’80

Mike Andrews, ’63

Angelina Collie, ’95

Mark Lafoon, ’79

Taylor Montgomery Mason, ’85


Dan Phillips, ‘69

Cindy Farmer, ‘76

John Adams, ‘86

Denise “Deedle” Murphy Bachman, ‘94


Jim Suanders, ‘72

William Carrington (WC) Sprouse , ‘72

Scott Andrews, ‘83

Cristy Wilson Larkin, ‘92

Autumn Barton Harbor, ‘95

Jon Martin, ‘97


Kenneth B. Batts ‘ 76

George Moore ‘80

Dalton Kuhar ‘10


Mrs. Beth Fore